Comms.ID Company
Australian company search
Search the ASIC company register by name prefix, or look up one company by its nine-digit ACN, from ASIC's published company dataset. Free under fair use.
Try it
Quickstart
- Sign in to the Companion App and register your app. Enable Company only; one product needs no other.
- Create your app's key pair on your server; Companion registers the public key.
- Call the API with a short-lived token signed by your key:
curl -X POST https://api.comms.id/company/v1/lookup \
-H "authorization: Bearer $(npx comms-id token company)" \
-H "content-type: application/json" \
-d '{"acn":"001234567"}'Reference: comms.id/docs/company. For agents: llms.txt.
Operations
POST /company/v1/lookup— Look up one nine-digit ACN in the company snapshot. ABN lookup is not offered in v1. At most ten rows; no uniqueness or complete history claim. Only the nine-digit normal form is accepted. identifierState is current or retired when ASIC establishes it, with a source deregistration date as YYYY-MM-DD when available; unknown statuses omit it. No successor ACN is invented.POST /company/v1/search— Search the company snapshot by case-insensitive name prefix and optional exact status. Default eight rows, maximum ten, no paging. A snapshot miss does not prove absence from the live register.
OpenAPI document: https://api.comms.id/company/v1/openapi.json. Base URL https://api.comms.id.
Status and measured speed
- State
- checking…
- Measured reply
- —
- Data
- —
- Measured at
- —
Method: this site's server sends one real signed query at most once a minute and times it from request to reply. The figure includes the hop from this site to the service.
How it compares
Each cell below quotes the vendor's own public page, with the date it was read, including where each one sends personal information. Where a page does not say, the cell says so; nothing is inferred.
| Vendor | ASIC company register coverage | Where personal information goes | Logs what you type | Pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
ASIC Search ASIC registers (ASIC Connect) | The regulator's own register search for companies, business names and organisations; some information free, extracts paid online by card. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Stored in Australia on systems including contracted cloud providers such as Amazon Web Services; may be disclosed overseas (United States, Hong Kong, New Zealand, United Kingdom, Singapore) with consent or as APP 8 permits; website analytics data is stored by Google in the United States. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Website visits are logged by its service provider for statistics (server address, date and time, pages accessed) and not used to identify users except under an enforcement body's inspection; register searches are not mentioned. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Some register information is free; extracts are paid products bought online with a credit card, with the fee table on the search fees page. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 |
InfoTrack ASIC Search | ASIC company and business name searches from the ASIC Register as an approved information broker, with real-time status, directors, shareholders and addresses. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Stored and kept in Australia; disclosed in Australia to multinational organisations located in Australia and overseas (United Kingdom, United States, New Zealand); people overseas may read it to provide development services. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Not stated on the vendor's privacy policy for the searches a user runs. Source · not stated on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Not stated on the ASIC Search page; it says to start searching or get started. Source · not stated on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 |
OpenCorporates Legal-entity data API | A global open legal-entity database by API or bulk delivery, with the jurisdictions chosen per package; Australia is one jurisdiction among many. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | A UK company: personal data goes to third parties based outside the UK (analytics by Google, payments by Stripe), under adequacy or approved contracts; no Australian location is stated. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Technical data about equipment, browsing actions and patterns is collected with cookies and server logs; nothing specific is said about API queries. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 | Yearly API plans in pounds: Essentials £2,250 a year (£225 a month) for up to 500 calls a month and 200 a day; Starter £6,600 a year; bulk delivery by contact. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-03 |
Coverage and limits
- Coverage: every company in ASIC's published company dataset; every reply names the dataset generation it answered from.
- A search returns eight rows by default and at most ten, with no paging; a lookup takes one ACN. ABN lookup is not offered in v1.
- A snapshot miss does not prove that a company does not exist. The dataset says a company's name, type, class, status and registration date; it does not say who its officers are.
- On this page, each visitor may make 10 requests per 10 seconds and 40 requests per 60 seconds. Over the limit, the reply is
429 FAIR_USE_CEILINGwithRetry-After. - A registered app starts with 150 requests for each product and each day (an owner's apps share one daily total). Over it, the reply is
429 FAIR_USE_CEILINGwithRetry-Afterand the reset time. A verified owner can ask for a higher ceiling in the Companion App. Every product is free under fair use.
Query privacy. The ACN or name you send is used only to answer that request, from the ASIC register copy stored in Australia; it is not sent to any other service. Comms.ID keeps no query text: request content is never logged, Worker logs are off, and usage counts record only the app, the product and the day.
Company data: Australian Securities and Investments Commission, from the ASIC company dataset on data.gov.au, licensed CC BY.