Comms.ID APRA list
APRA list of registered financial corporations
Check whether an ABN is on the list of registered financial corporations that the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority publishes, or search the list by name: the category, or that a corporation is listed as exempted. Free under fair use.
Try it
Quickstart
- Sign in to the Companion App and register your app. Enable APRA list only; one product needs no other.
- Create your app's key pair on your server; Companion registers the public key.
- Call the API with a short-lived token signed by your key:
curl -X POST https://api.comms.id/apra-list-registered-financial-corporations/v1/lookup \
-H "authorization: Bearer $(npx comms-id token apra-list-registered-financial-corporations)" \
-H "content-type: application/json" \
-d '{"abn":"45114248458"}'Reference: comms.id/docs/apra-list-registered-financial-corporations. For agents: llms.txt.
Operations
POST /apra-list-registered-financial-corporations/v1/lookup— Look up an ABN on APRA's published list of registered financial corporations: the corporation's category, or that it is listed as exempted from the obligation to register. No match means only that the ABN is not on APRA's published page. This page is not the list APRA publishes in the Gazette under s11(4) of the Financial Sector (Collection of Data) Act 2001.POST /apra-list-registered-financial-corporations/v1/search— Find corporations on APRA's published list of registered financial corporations whose name starts with the text given, including the rows that APRA publishes without an ABN. A name match is not proof of identity.
OpenAPI document: https://api.comms.id/apra-list-registered-financial-corporations/v1/openapi.json. Base URL https://api.comms.id.
Status and measured speed
- State
- checking…
- Measured reply
- —
- Data
- —
- Measured at
- —
Method: this site's server sends one real signed query at most once a minute and times it from request to reply. The figure includes the hop from this site to the service.
How it compares
Each cell below quotes the vendor's own public page, with the date it was read, including where each one sends personal information. Where a page does not say, the cell says so; nothing is inferred.
| Vendor | APRA data coverage | Where personal information goes | Logs what you type | Pricing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
APRA List of registered financial corporations (web page) | The regulator's own list: a web page table of entity names and ABNs, grouped by category (Category D money market corporations, and Other). The page says it was updated 7 September 2026. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | No storage country named. The policy says APRA discloses personal information to certain overseas regulators and international bodies, and that its web analytics tool comes from a third-party provider. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | A third-party analytics tool collects device and browser details, records of your activity, location and IP address; the policy says nothing about the text typed into a search. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | No price shown; the website's material is under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 licence, with some exceptions. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 |
Zephira.ai Company data REST API (Australia) | Its Australian guide says the REST API delivers APRA data, and describes APRA's list as the 1,790 APRA-supervised institutions (banks, insurers, super trustees); registered financial corporations are not named. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | A UK company with staff in Moldova; service providers may be outside the UK or EEA, including the United States. No UK-only or EU-only promise. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | Records API use (endpoint, timestamp, request identifier, status, usage) and keeps support, query, usage and security records for as long as reasonably necessary. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | Monthly plans at $99, $199, $499 and $999 (200 to 10,000 checks), custom for enterprise; 3 free searches to try. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 |
193market Financial Firm Register Search API | Searches regulators' public registers, Australia included, by name or identifier such as ABN; its example names APRA's register of authorised deposit-taking institutions. The registered financial corporations list is not named. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | Not stated on the vendor's page: it does not say where requests are processed or stored. Source · not stated on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | Not stated on the vendor's page whether the names or identifiers searched are logged or kept. Source · not stated on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 | A free BASIC plan with a small monthly quota for evaluation; paid plans from $49 a month. Source · read on the vendor's page, read 2026-10-11 |
Coverage and limits
- Coverage: every row of APRA's published page, in its four tables: Category D (money market corporations), Category Other, Category I (intra group financiers) and exempted corporations.
- Comms.ID reads the page once a day; every reply carries the page's own updated date and when Comms.ID last read it.
- An exempted corporation is listed as exempted from registration; it is never shown as registered.
- A miss means only that the ABN is not on APRA's page. This is not the list APRA publishes in the Gazette under subsection 11(4) of the Financial Sector (Collection of Data) Act 2001.
- On this page, each visitor may make 10 requests per 10 seconds and 40 requests per 60 seconds. Over the limit, the reply is
429 FAIR_USE_CEILINGwithRetry-After. - A registered app starts with 150 requests for each product and each day (an owner's apps share one daily total). Over it, the reply is
429 FAIR_USE_CEILINGwithRetry-Afterand the reset time. A verified owner can ask for a higher ceiling in the Companion App. Every product is free under fair use.
Query privacy. The ABN or name you send is used only to answer that request, from the copy of APRA's page stored in Australia; it is not sent to APRA or any other service. Comms.ID keeps no query text: request content is never logged, Worker logs are off, and usage counts record only the app, the product and the day.
List: Australian Prudential Regulation Authority, List of registered financial corporations, licensed under CC BY 4.0. Each answer carries APRA's attribution text.